YHZ this Weekend!

So it’s official, I’m going to be in Halifax this weekend. My agenda is relatively full already: the two hot topics are Architecture and Coffee+Espresso.

Architecture: I have meetings set-up with folks at Dalhousie, and even have the chance to sit in on a class or two.

Coffee + Espresso: I will be making a voyage (by ferry) to make a special trip to TIBS in Dartmouth. I’m excited to hopefully hang with Zane or Amir.

I’m also hoping to get out to Smiling Goat, and probably also the former workplace of the two TIBSers, Steve-O-Renos.

Finally, here are two snaps from the last trip:

Double Macchiato at 'Steve-O-Reno's' in Downtown Halifax. Poured by Amir.

Double Macchiato at 'Steve-O-Reno's' in Downtown Halifax. Poured by Amir.

@ Smiling Goat. Naked Espresso Pour.

@ Smiling Goat. Naked Espresso Pour.

Best,

– Matt

3 thoughts on “YHZ this Weekend!

  1. Good luck in Halifax, Matt. What are the architecture meetings for?

    And are they serving 49th Parallel (my favourite in Vancouver) on the east coast now?

  2. I’m applying for Architecture School in March.

    And yes, Steve-O-Renos serves 49th. Smiling Goat usually has in some Intelligentsia… Nova Scotia is a lot more cultured in coffee than Newfoundland evidently!

    Thanks for the luck, I’m going to need to for March when I actually do apply for school!

    Best,
    -Matt

  3. hey,
    I was a Tibs employee for 8 months. Just moved to St.John’s. It seems to me there’s nowhere in this city I can get a decent coffee. Am I wrong? please inform me if there is any place to get a spro. Something needs to be done about the coffee in this city.

    Anyway, give me a shout if you ever want to coffee-nerd it up. I also ride a fixed gear, so see ya on the streets.

    Jon Howse
    jjehowse@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

