Exploring Obscure Places

Last term I spent some time investigating on the subject of Urban Exploring.

I explored into what it meant to be an urban explorer, aesthetics, and more. I eventually settled on a paper title of “Transgression and Art: Exploring Obscure Places”.

The paper was relatively long, but ever since it was competed I have wanted to share it with others. The easiest way to do this I have decided, is in a series of shortened posts breaking down exactly how it came together. This way I can also throw in some photos and such.

The table of contents is as follows:

1) Introduction and Context
2) Aesthetics and Spatiality
3) The Informants:
I.        Defining Urban Exploring
II.       Preparing and Equipping
III.     The Exploration
IV.     Why?
V.       Ethics, Values and Illegality
VI.      Identity and Aliases
4) Urban Exploring, Sub-Culture, and the Internet
5) Conclusion
6) References

The final length is about 15 pages of writing, so I think I’m going to break it down into 5 sections.

They will be released over the next week or two, so keep an eye out. I’ll do my best to update all my sources (facebook, twitter, etc).

Here’s a photo to leave you with for now:

urban explorer - click for larger version

urban explorer – click for larger version

Keep inspired!

– Matt

Leave a Reply

