First Month of BEDS

All of a sudden it’s October. In fact, it’s already a week into October and the autumn season is full swing!

IMG_2257This first month at architecture school has been insane. So many interesting people, so much excitement, so much to learn, and so much work to be done. Seriously, I’ve learned as much in this last month as I’ve learned in my whole life (only a slight exaggeration).

At it’s core, the program has 5 courses much like any other program. However, they all overlap quite a bit – thus the professors are able to overload you with even more work and expectation. The heart of the program is “Design” class where we sometimes listen to lectures, work with groups, or other – but most importantly, we work with a tutor who helps structure our work. Think of this as a mentor (I know I do).

The biggest advantage is that all 60 students in the program are subjected to the same crushing workload, all at the same time. On top of this, the 60 people are all divided into 5 studio groups. There is Studio East (group 1 & 2), Center Studio (group 5), and Studio West (groups 3 & 4). So, let’s say you are in group 3 in studio West: first and foremost, your group mates you see all day every day; secondly, you see the West side altogether a lot; and finally, you see the other groups a little less. However, all 5 groups take all 5 classes together at the same time. We are already becoming cohesive and like a family.

Without getting too much into my personal work, I also wanted to highlight the fact that long hours are indeed needed. People don’t joke about this idea for no reason. While the days are usually long (10+ hours each day), as it nears a deadline it can get much more intense. In the last week leading up to a deadline I spent 17-18 hours every single day at school (not including the bike ride there and back home), and the last 2 days leading up to the deadline I spent 20 hours at school a day. Seriously.

BUT, it’s a matter of LOVE. I rush to school every day, excited to get back into a project and work. There is much to learn and so little time.¬†My tutor told me last week, “you only get out whatever your willing to put in” (paraphrased), and that struck a chord with me. You have to challenge yourself – immerse yourself.

I couldn’t leave out the fact that coffee is still very important to me. In fact, some days the only break I take all day is to sit with my hand grinder, grind up some beans, load my freiling french press and brew a delicious cup of coffee. I’ve really been digging on Anchored Coffee these days (which thankfully is roasted in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia). It’s rock and roll; consistently fantastic every time. I get stoked about each cup I drink, so thanks dudes at Anchored.

I’ll leave you with some snaps from the past month…

First Week - Setting Up

First Week – Setting Up

First Week - Setting Up

First Week – Setting Up

Out in the field sketching

Out in the field sketching

TIBS Macc

TIBS Macc

Making light models

Making light models

Halifax Harbour Front

Halifax Harbour Front

More TIBS

More TIBS

Technical Drafting

Technical Drafting

Pin Up for Critique

Pin Up for Critique

Morning Macc at Steve O Reno's

Morning Macc at Steve O Reno’s

More Drafting

More Drafting

 

Weekend TIBS Excursion

Weekend TIBS Excursion

Even if biking these days is only to and from school!

Even if biking these days is only to and from school!

Stay creative,

/ Matt

Leave a Reply

