Profound Moments

The past three weeks have been marked by a few very important moments.

Beginning over a month ago, I have been challenging myself to draw a parti (defined here) of as many of my classmates designs – and ideas – as possible. Without going into too much detail, this has really trained my mind to reduce things to their ‘big idea’. It kind of goes like, “okay, so it’s really like this [insert drawing here].

So I’ve started having these moments where I’m reading something, usually for a long time, and then an illustration is provided that very clearly explains everything with a few simple lines. Take this for instance: I’m reading a book, and the idea of Euclidian geometry comes up. I’m not aware what it means, and so I do some research and find this blog entitled “Non-Euclidean Geometry, or Even Cthulhu Has an Angle“.

So I’m reading, and reading, and reading, and then I see this diagram:

As simple as that, it’s very clear what it means.

Now I’m not saying that this is a great example. I’m not even saying that this type of learning works for everyone.

However, as someone with an undergraduate in Anthropology and Folklore, I’m trained to write and understand writing. So for me, these past weeks have really opened my eyes to the discipline of architecture.

The moment you realize that a single drawing can literally represent 1000 words. A profound moment in architecture school indeed!

Stay Creative,
– Matt

Leave a Reply

